~{}~

 

you took the ferry  without me

and didn’t talk about returning

separation, an indifferent  sea

while my heart just kept  on yearning

 

I couldn’t be with you

and sunshine didn’t  comfort me

the way it used to do

as with you I longed to be

 

of course I knew that this was better

no future was there for our love

still I did hope for a letter

wishing you would care enough

 

I was  sixteen, you three times my age

yes I know this was insanity, outrage

but you showed me I could trust

and what love is without lust

 

thank you for leaving me behind

it was not mean to do, but kind

🙂

~{}~

entry for jingle thursday’s rally

I can’t download the awards, so a pic of them altogether is all I can do. Thanks Jingle  🙂

Comments on: "Thank you for leaving me behind" (53)

  1. belfastdavid said:

    This is what poetry is all about –

    Using very few words yet telling us all we need to know and capturing the very essence of something which, although very personal, is also universal.

    My favourite of yours so far 🙂

    • Wow thank you! 🙂 My English vocabulary is still not that extend, but extending. 🙂

      • belfastdavid said:

        Simple words often make the best poetry.

        Billy Collins (proably the world’s favourite poet) sets a wonderful example 🙂

        • Are you saying I know enough English words already? 🙂 I will google Collins up, thanks!

          • Ditto BelfastDavid. Well done, Ina. This poem of yours is perfectly lovely, sweet, and wise.

            This is a favorite of mine – a Billy Collins poem, now that he has been mentioned.

            Introduction to Poetry by Billy Collins

            I ask them to take a poem
            and hold it up to the light
            like a color slide

            or press an ear against its hive.

            I say drop a mouse into a poem
            and watch him probe his way out,

            or walk inside the poem’s room
            and feel the walls for a light switch.

            I want them to waterski
            across the surface of a poem
            waving at the author’s name on the shore.

            But all they want to do
            is tie the poem to a chair with rope
            and torture a confession out of it.

            They begin beating it with a hose
            to find out what it really means.

  2. ina you always mesmerize me with your words.. Awesome, the way it end is chanceless.. SmileS.. here is my rally post, that’s how life is

    Someone is Special

  3. Wow, I could have written this to my husband, 27 years my senior, but I didn’t – I married him instead. I love the way you the story revealed itself along with the feelings expressed. Nicely done!

    • Thank you very much! 🙂 27 years, my husband is 10 years older than me. Like wine, they only get better in time 😉

  4. Well… They do say that age is just a number. This style of poetry is very personal though.

    Keep up the work! Do a lot of reading and your vocabulary will boom. :]

  5. Very personal thoughts indeed and well expressed. Thanks for sharing

  6. thank you for leaving me behind
    it was not mean to do, but kind..

    love it, your words are super grand.
    🙂

  7. thank goodness for peace found in hindsight. Nicely constructed piece.

  8. simplicity gives courage to the poem to bloom..yours surely does 🙂

  9. your words always touch me in ways …and thats what makes this a great poem..u mezmerize ppl..and that is a what makes u a good writer..

    here is my link: http://mypoetrywriting.blogspot.com/2011/03/pictures-of-you.html

  10. beautiful closing words for a beautiful poem…

  11. Sometimes, the lessons in life hit a mean punch.

    Your words are convey the sad reality of lesson learned.

  12. I was blown away by this poem…beautifully written.

  13. whoa! another magnetic poem — won’t leave my mind yet 🙂

  14. It must have been heartbreaking… Nice to read you again!

  15. I really liked this, it speaks to me !
    Happy Rally
    JL&B

  16. This is different from the usual love poems I have read. I am particularly impressed by the way you express yourself boldly 🙂 Keep writing!

  17. thoughtsnotlost said:

    Very personal style of poem. Well written!

  18. felt like u were talking to a family member somehow.. nice verses Ina..

  19. I was there right beside you….lovely and thoughtful.

  20. A.B. Thomas said:

    Fascinating – sad, yet not. Great write!

  21. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom said:

    very nicely done, i felt the pain. my salute to the poet!
    my salute to the man in the poem!

    Please check mine too:
    ” Perfect… “

  22. Oh this is so sad! The one left behind realising, years later, that it was for the best, their destiny was not to be together … yet your words somehow emanate the pain felt at the time of separation. I really love this. Subtly powerful. 🙂

    • Time heels all wounds perhaps and wisdom comes with the years (Dutch sayings) . Thank you very much 🙂

  23. Beautiful, Ina – like all good poems, so much is said in a few perfectly-chosen words.

  24. Some people come just to teach us a lesson and they leave, it might seem hard at first to let go, but later we always acknowledge that this is how was supposed to be! Nice poem Ina!

Leave a comment