~{}~

 

Sometimes day has no signs of beginning

But a bird is already singing

It is dark, yet a lark tries a different song

 

Sometimes  nights  just are a few hours too long

And the birds have all gone for the season

In those nights with no end I just think of you

For it gives sleepless nights a good reason

 

~{}~

 

entry for jingle thursday rally

Comments on: "A brighter look on sleepless nights" (58)

  1. lovely write… every opportunity to think about the person you love is good 😉

  2. Longing, love. Great poem!

  3. I, too, choose to give sleepless nights a reason. Consider the waking hours a special gift, somehow.

  4. thingy said:

    This is a positive and sweet poem.

  5. short yet very delightful…
    superb writing.

    🙂

  6. Now I can say that my eyebags contain all things good! Love your poem!
    🙂

  7. A good twist on coping with insomnia! 🙂

  8. I’ve been having quiet a few of these nights… Beautiful poem.

  9. Nice work. I like the last line. It does give sleeplessness a good reason.

  10. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom said:

    very touching write up! good one!

  11. belfastdavid said:

    I love a poem which makes me smile

    This one did 🙂

  12. when i cnt sleep my mind goes of wandering about all kinds of things..what a wonderful poem..

    thanks for the visit on my blog.

  13. your stop at just the correct spot and thats what makes poems a lovely read! nice one ina my friend.. my wk 39 is here.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2009/11/17/regret/

  14. I know those kind of nights. Am so glad you have someone that gives them reason.
    Lovely poem.
    Thank you.

  15. Thinking about the one you love is good. In my sleepless nights I try to just soak in the stillness.

    • Hi athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for , silence can be confrontingly loud, but stillness is a peacefull situation maybe 🙂 Thank you for your visit!

  16. NcMerci said:

    I once and a while have restless nights and I never thought of giving it meaning. Thanks for the idea 😀 Lovely Poem

  17. Scent of my heart said:

    It’s much comforting when you have reason for insomnia ..especially when the reason is a dear face … Lovely write Ina! Happy Rally!

  18. a day with no beginning? seems true in a deep context, Ina.. very beautiful verse!

  19. A.B. Thomas said:

    Superb write – having had experienced numerous nights several hours too long, I totally grooved on this!

  20. Such is the feeling when that special someone isn’t around!
    Very well written 🙂

    May that special someone be always around.. The mornings would be beautiful and nights…

    Love xx

  21. Another lovely poem, Ina – a reminder that sleepless nights aren’t always a bad thing.

  22. Sweet poem. Some of my most creative inspirations have come thanks to insomnia!

  23. adreamygal said:

    Loved the way you captured and portrayed the differences in day and night , with change of ‘season’and reason.. Made me smile , as I can relate with it quiet ! 🙂

  24. @ Helena: yes, the best sentences pop up at night, with no pen or paper in sight 🙂

    @ adreamygal : thank you 🙂

  25. I always wonder how naked, heartfelt lines like “In those nights with no end I just think of you” have such an impact… I like it!

  26. what a lovely reason for a sleepless night.. loved the flow and the structure of your piece of art

  27. Short & Sweet..

  28. yelena m. said:

    Loved the way of your brighter look, a fascinating piece of poetry that touches the heart. Thanks for sharing.

  29. way to go.

    Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

  30. cinnamon blues said:

    Beautiful structure, the words are delicate but have an amazing impact. I enjoyed reading it. 🙂

Leave a comment