Archive for June 13, 2015

Upholstery

Curtains

I peek through madly waving curtains,
Flashing the bottom of the sky.
Stars flicker as slimy sours, my energy floating
Towards the big black eternity,
Then the curtains fall back again
And for a moment I am convinced
Life is good and all will stay the same.

Chair

A chair has been here through all of us,
Now it is unstable, the paint bladdering,
And it will only keep your clothes at night,
Not both of ours. I remember me blushing
When I saw your pants making love to my skirt.

Carpet

Once we slept in a room with a carpet, our feet
Excited for every warm step, and mice gave birth there
Or so you said (how were you to know, it
Was not our house) and I saw a spider die on it.
If you know the story behind upholstery
Would you sleep? The mites, the bugs, who died between
The sheets we bought on auction?

Pillows

Pillows talk when we are out, recalling our dreams
And having a laugh over our romantic escapades,
But once in a week I get back at them
Kicking them senseless, all in the name of good hygiene.