How do I know

How do I know
when time is right,
what matters most,
how to express?
 

I have forgotten those skills
between
the eighties
and a funeral

 
when all was for granted
and I took it as such.
A hand on my knee
would mean: let us go,
 

but how do I know
what it means in new language,
on a double reclining chair
and my feet losing ground?

 
There may be a sign
but I’ll probably miss it,
these times are confusing
but I’m up for part two.
 

How do I know
that I’m alright for living,
and my stumbling on
will be a marching again?

(Whitby, 29 September 2016)

Comments on: "How do I know" (10)

  1. Loved your poem!

  2. Beautiful words Ina. It’s good to see you back.

  3. What Ancient Skies said.

  4. Welcome back, especially with such a good poem

  5. nettie Schroders. said:

    Ja Ina, Wat een mooi gedicht zo levens echt.
    Met vallen en op staan met veel onzekere gevoelens zal er na een aantal jaren het gevoel komen. Toes is trots op me hoe ik het alleen doe. Toes kijk beslist toe maar dan van het rijk dat hiernamaals heet.In kleine dingen zie je Toes. Hij zal niet vergeten worden. Veel sterkte Ina.Lieve groet Nettie

Leave a Reply

