Overnight

I walked, a stranger in the early day,
The moon so full no lamp light needed,
A bird was singing as I stepped outside. 

The road bricks shone and mirrored where I found my way,
Above me all seemed velvet, beaded,
The Sun rose as to end a fine indigo night. 

As I returned, the light had changed to red,
The Moon was gone and others rose now,
Faint, haunting lamp lights flickered in a stranger place. 

It was too late to go back to my bed,
Too soon to do the things I know how,
And in the mirror there was someone elseโ€™s face.
 

Comments on: "Overnight" (12)

  1. I love this poem.

  2. Beautifully visual Ina, four exquisite drawings…

  3. Anonymous said:

    Hi Ina, I see that walk so well.

  4. Wow, a beauty, this one. I love the ending, that mirror that changes perspective. And that beaded velvet night sky, so elegant. Double wow.

  5. That’s quietly beautiful Ina.

  6. The sudden turn in the final line is wonderful, Ina. The whole poem paints a picture that is intense and beautiful, and the hint in the final line suggests that the experience of intense beauty on a “fine indigo night” changes us, shows us a person in the mirror that is different than the one who walked outside into a beaded velvet night sky.

Leave a Reply

