November 10

November tenth waves branches in my face,
I would not mind some sunshine in the clouds,
A darkened day, another one ahead
And it is always better in my bed.

Outside a storm, inside a draught,
And coughing in the street, we all look pale.
I hate November and its hail. Its mist. Its snow.
Still twenty days to go. Then it’s December.

πŸ™‚ just having November blues

Comments on: "November 10" (16)

  1. Wonderful Ina.

  2. I spend increasing hours in my bed also, seems suddenly dark beyond understanding, hibernation time, good books, hot milk with black rum, occasionally I scream for the sun, then realize, it’s only November…

  3. I always think of November and the onset of winter as “Character building,” which is an attitude which irritates the hell out of my better half. What I can say is you have captured the essence of the “Winter blues” with your normal brilliance πŸ™‚

    • Thank you. It is character building, cycling or walking though rain and storm probably makes you strong, but I still prefer a month that does nothing for my character, but a lot for my good mood πŸ™‚

  4. Sand in an hourglass, except in this case you use words.

  5. There’s a lot of that going around….

  6. Very nicely done Ina. It flows so naturally.

  7. Four more months until Spring…siiiiiigh…

  8. As always, deeply full of beautiful and subtlely evoked emotions. There are many people who find November hard to enjoy as the implacable chill of winter grips the landscape around us. There is a beauty to it, as there are to so many things, but, as you suggest, this is possibly best viewed from within a warm home while our thoughts drift towards the cheer of Christmas. Another delightful and evocative verse.

Leave a Reply

