The river ends

My love, this river I am watching flows
Its way by means of many curves as if
It tries escaping, like the way we live,
Thrown back into the mainstream as it goes.

The bridge that has been there since Roman days
Has seen it all, the water that keeps streaming
On, witnessed my desperation and my dreaming.
The water changed its path in many ways.

But waterfalls have killed most of my fears;
Each time the deep would take me, I emerged,
I’ve swum among the long forgotten tears
Because ’t was you who urged me to go on.

My love, from where I stand now I feel free.
I’ll join you where this river ends in sea.

Comments on: "The river ends" (11)

  1. A nice image. Like the link with Roman times

  2. Dreaming within you the water…

    Water main ingredient of life..

  3. The enjambement between lines 6 and 7 is a wee bit of a jump, but overall I like this.πŸ™‚

  4. Beautifully flowing poem Ina, lovely reflection on life which you do so well ❀️ Xxx

  5. nettie Schroders. said:

    Mooi hoor Ina

Leave a Reply

