Afloat

Waiting to wake up I lived in numbness,
All was flowing by me and through me
As I drifted on in a sea, face down.

No shore would have me, the bright beaches
Were too shallow, the lovely fjords too cold.

Tidal waves crushed my bones,
Numbness, out of reach, I waited
In a dense black mist of knowing
This is being alone.

I think that I woke up now
But I’m not sure. I still taste
The bitter of the sea.

Comments on: "Afloat" (4)

  1. Good perspective on being alone!

  2. “…The bitter of the sea…”

    I love the way the nouned adjective curtails this thought, simplifies and amplifies it… I have the taste conveyed into my own mouth.

Leave a Reply

