Performance

They are watching me and have so many eyes,
This organic phenomena called audience,
Silent for a moment as I do my reading,
A grey sea of heads, obliged
To listen carefully to what is told.

Once I’m inside the poem I forget them,
Not wondering about their verdict,
Concentrating on my own words
As if they really matter,
My inner soul revealed
Now the words unfold.

But someone there might guess
That inside every proclaimed line
I do worry about my fly
And will the zipper hold.

🙂

Comments on: "Performance" (27)

  1. Those last lines are great. Could’ve easily been me 🙂

  2. Yikes! I have my book launch next Friday! This poem made me smile out loud 😄 ❤️ xxx

  3. David said:

    A great view of the inside of a poetry reader’s mind, especially that niggling doubt that always lurks somewhere offstage! Nice one.

    • 🙂 Thank you David. There can be so much to worry about, like clothes, hair, but in the end it is the poem that needs to do the work, I suppose 🙂

  4. I love your poems very much as you know and I’m glad you were able to lose yourself during the reading. I’ve done a reading but I have to say I felt horribly self-conscious and I think I read the passage rather badly 😦

    • Hi Peter, thank you. I know that self conscious feel, it only goes away the second, third or fourth time perhaps 🙂 So keep doing it! As it also is very rewarding.

  5. Levi 501s every time. Buttons.

  6. I lose myself in the poem when I read them for my YouTube channel (haven’t done one in ages though) and I don’t even stutter as I do in real life but I can’t bring up the courage to do a live open mike reading. Reading in front of an audience is rather scary for me.

Leave a Reply

