Black, no sugar

Are my thoughts really silent for another?
Or does sound escape from the bone walls of my skull?
As sometimes you do speak my mind so well
And I often scream my silent wonder, so
It would make sense to me
That by hearing you could tell.

Is my hope of private thoughts a disillusion?
Confusion, I start thinking you are psychic,
All my feelings, likes and dislikes an open book perhaps.

Then you ask me about coffee, milk and sugar?
Stuff I think that you would know.
Relieved I realise
My secret thoughts will never show.
Black! No sugar!

Comments on: "Black, no sugar" (8)

  1. As always I love to hear your thoughts through verse, and the final line was so amusing and wry. Always a pleasure to read your poemsπŸ™‚

  2. It really is comical when someone who has seen you do something–like take coffee—a million times, and still asks whether you want milk and sugar….comical and frustrating! You never know what people notice, and what they don’t!πŸ™‚

    • Hi Cynthia, lol I must admit I always forget what my sons have in their coffee πŸ™‚

  3. Ha! An Earl Grey tea at 7am give me my morning boost. I like this one.

    • Hi Marie, thank you πŸ™‚ somehow I crave coffee more than tea, but Earl Grey is one of my favourites.

  4. David said:

    Great ending!

Leave a Reply

