Starting as strangers

My memory of how we met that day
Before we fell in love, before we knew,
Is gaining golden layers in every May,
And more and more is speaking about you.

It happened suddenly: out of the blue
You stood before me. What was I to say?
We did what strangers are supposed to do;
The smiling of our eyes gave us away.

We tried to lie about it though ’t was true
That I would never want to leave, but stay
And for a while I thought you had no clue.
We were to part again, our love astray.

Now we’re two strangers on the quay, you say,
Both watching sailing ships move in the bay.

Comments on: "Starting as strangers" (6)

  1. Ah, a sonnet of sadness, crafted perfectly.

    • Thank you very much David.
      (This poem is posted in two places, by mistake, on May 5 th as I wrote the draft, and June 28 when I released it πŸ™‚ )

  2. Ah, there’s a very famous sonnet with a third line ending in ‘May’.πŸ™‚

    I think the only problem you have here is that we pronounce ‘quay’ as ‘key’.

Leave a Reply

