When time ends

The branches – heavy under cobalt sky –
Have carried ravens in the misty morn
But now the snow has chased them off. Forlorn
I stand where I have never seen them fly.

The ravens won’t be back till it is light,
They’ll haunt me in my sleep, in dreams they tear
My hopes up, every bird another fear,
Their feathers sizzling in my room all night.

There is a point where time began to be,
And under these old trees I understand
That all we know will fade away and end:
The tree, the ravens, cobalt skies and we.

Comments on: "When time ends" (24)

  1. kaytheauthor said:

    nice!

  2. Their is an almost unsettling level of understanding in this beautifully well observed poem

  3. What a splendid poem!

  4. I almost thought you had a sonnet going there. Nice rhymes.

  5. Hang in there, my friend…❤

  6. I would echo Cynthia Jobin’s thought.

  7. This is beautiful Ina, really beautiful.sending big warm hugs (((Ina))) ❤️ xxx

  8. The birds will probably out live us all…

  9. There is beauty in this poem, Ina. The first line is particularly beautiful. The raven as symbol somehow resonates within that beauty until the second stanza:
    The ravens won’t be back till it is light,
    They’ll haunt me in my sleep, in dreams they tear
    My hopes up, every bird another fear,
    Their feathers sizzling in my room all night.
    The power of this final, creative line is undeniable and troubling. When we stare into the face of that which we do not want to look at, our dreams bring the birds of fear, and feathers do sizzle in your room all night.
    There is absolute truth in the last line:
    There is a point where time began to be,
    And under these old trees I understand
    That all we know will fade away and end:
    The tree, the ravens, cobalt skies and we.
    But hang in there, as John and Cynthia say. As long as there are dawns that awake us, there is light.

    • Hi Tom, thank you very much. Your wonderful comment makes me see things in the poem I hadn’t noticed! We shall hang in. We are on the rocky ferry now to his first chemo. As long as there are dawns that awake us, there is light, I shall think about that today🙂

  10. I love the very deep feelings here. You have a wonderful gift Ina!

  11. Lovely moody piece. May I reblog to “Tales of Unwise paths?”

Leave a Reply

