Ebbtide and all cried out

3okt14 002

The sea had withdrawn.
Dawn over the water far away.
And sea and I both waited.

3okt14 018

Sunlight started shining,
Some items appeared lying in the sand.
‘Messages’ a seagull cried.

3okt14 024

I waited again
And then began walking.
What message could there be?

3okt14 021

The last days had been full
Of symbols, of signs. Why
Would they really mean anything?

3okt14 022

I found two balloons, blue and a pink,
filled with water I let out
and put them in my pocket.

3okt14 020

At least no bird would eat them.
Message:
Life goes on. Children go on. Go on.

3okt14 025

I found an empty cigar box,
Message: ‘smoking is lethal’ (I don’t smoke)
And an empty wine bottle. Got that one. Right in time.

3okt14 010

I returned home. The sea was still far.
It won’t know me now, but I’ll be back
And so will he one day. We’ll go together.

3okt14 009

I took the photos yesterday on the beach, West Terschelling

Comments on: "Ebbtide and all cried out" (12)

  1. Beautiful photos…makes me wish I’d gone to the beach more often this summer,,,

  2. Almost like a haiga series. The observations are simple, almost simplistic, almost functioning as captions; but not – they’re nonetheless poetic, stand-alone.

  3. One is still allowed to think on the beach here, but screaming is definitely frowned upon, (unless one is drowning)…Your words are as touching and poignant as your images of that wild and desolate beach and the gifts from the sea…

  4. Poignant, simple, yet profound dialogue for your lovely photos, Ina…sending hugs…

  5. I took this walk with you, Ina, and the views and thoughts and feelings you shared reached into my heart. Reaching out to hug you, just as if I was right there with you. Wish there was more I could do. Love you! XO❤

    • Hi {{{Diane}}}, thank you very much for all the love, and thank you for keeping us in your thoughts . Love you too ❤ xxx

  6. This is very special.
    I was there with you walking on the beach
    (((INA)))
    Arohanui❤ xxx

Leave a Reply

