A Goodbye in Sunshine

10maart 1949 - albertje en maarten, robbie
Photo: My parents, then not married for another 7 years, as this photo was taken on 10 March 1949 and they married 19 May 1956

In steam and mist a goodbye seems forever,
More so than when it’s taking place in rain
And I could not believe that you were gone
When Sun was shining on your funeral.

Such brightness that day had, we all walked
Smiling to your grave, you would have loved
To be among us; for a moment I was sure you were.
In steam and mist it would have been forever.

When Sun was shining on your funeral,
You went, the coffin white with roses.
More so than when it’s taking place in rain
A goodbye in such light does not mean forever.

This poem is a repost. When I wrote it in July, I was not aware it was about my mother’s funeral, she died 20-09-2009 so that is 5 years ago today. On her funeral, the last Summer’s day, we listened to Last Rose of Summer (Celtic Woman) and everyone had a white rose to give to her when she was buried. Sometimes I feel as if I only now get to know who she really was.

It was no farewell, just a goodbye.

Comments on: "A Goodbye in Sunshine" (10)

  1. Very touching and emotional. It always feels so very special when someone lets you in in such a part of their soul, it creates such raw emotion that your pain and your happiness both became as mine as they are yours.

  2. quite a moving piece

  3. Very moving, wonderful depth. I love the feeling they are still with you or not far away.

  4. Very moving and emotional, Ina…hugs xo

  5. When we say goodbye to our parents we say goodbye to so much more…Your poem touches me deeper than I could ever say…

Leave a Reply

