Writing

Surrounded by the necessary tools:
A screen, a keyboard to write down my lines
And knowing that from now on grammar rules
I pass the hours in a sort of trance.

It is the daily dance, the bleak routine,
In which us writing fools think lies our fate,
We must create an interesting terrene;
The rest of life is only there to wait.

Surrounded by a screen and knowing I
Must pass the hours in a sort of trance,
I dance and lie my fate in bleak routine.

Comments on: "Writing" (18)

  1. It’s not bleak when someone writes as good as you do, InaπŸ™‚

  2. ‘terrene’ – interesting use as a noun / alternative to ‘terrain’. You really have got me thinking lately!

  3. Perhaps I understand this one to well ha haπŸ™‚

  4. This is great fun, Ina. Your “terrene” is probably intended to mean “earth”, yet it is identical in sound and so close to the word “terrine” which is basically a meatloaf, that I amuse myself with the image of writing this afternoon as just making meatloaf!

    • πŸ™‚ Yes, it reminded me of a soup terrine lol. I like the word. ( In the poem here means the Earth btw)

      • Now you’ve really got me going….the big serving bowl for soup is called a “soup tureen”…..just a few letters difference and you have terrene, terrine, and tureen..all different meanings with practically the same sound!

  5. πŸ™‚ in Dutch and French tureen is terrine, I remember how my grandmother would serve soup in such a soup terrine. It originates from the same meaning of earth.

  6. The French word for tureen is “soupiΓ¨re”. The French word “terrine” refers to a forced meat loaf (or sometimes fish). I watched Julia Child, the “French Chef” make terrine on TV.My French grandmother also made them.πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

