Remaining

Words you said silently still live loudly inside me,
you are a lodger never paying rent.
You did not leave me the day that you went.
I still see you, in obvious signings:

Birds you once fed that keep landing on my shoulders,
songs start, out of nowhere at all,
the sea still moves in your rhythm of lines.
You float near me, in candle’s thick breathings.

When people part they sometimes blend,
becoming more of one another.
So you remain. I sense your presence everywhere
in words you whispered. I shall bleed my pain.

Comments on: "Remaining" (14)

  1. Elan Mudrow said:

    I liked your poem! I’ll check out more of your stuff. Check out:
    passiontorn.wordpress.com

  2. Truly amazing! I love the depth.

  3. Clever and beautiful

  4. A lot of your love showing. I hope that they are able to come to terms.

  5. Oh, so many wonderful contradictions, especially that first stanza, but these incongruities hold the poem together so nicely.

  6. This is so lovely, Ina … especially: ‘When people part they sometimes blend,
    becoming more of one another.’ I do know how that is. XO โค

Leave a Reply

