One way of putting it

My live is not yours. Somehow
my thoughts originate elsewhere,
and although we are acquainted
we do not walk the same road often.

My words therefore might have
some different associations.

This only means we can entertain each other
and there is bound to be some sort of surprise.
So there. Let’s say I love you,
what would that mean to you?

Comments on: "One way of putting it" (16)

  1. Ohhh! I love this….I would certainly consider this a practical approach:)-

  2. There is more to this poem than at first meets the eye I think! Love it L&H xx

  3. The way you posed the question in the last two lines just made me smile. You are so clever in the way you do these things. Charming. I know I keep complimenting you, but I do mean it.

  4. So there.

    This reminds of the song ” If I loved you…..time and again I would try to say…” from the musical “The King and I,” I think.

  5. The “surprise” is what keeps it all worthwhile. πŸ™‚ I love the last two lines – a deceptively powerful ending.

  6. I love this poem. You could be talking about two ordinary people or even two writers.

  7. You are so full of wonderful surprises Ina…

Leave a Reply

