Grave

Moss is growing on your grave now,
I hope it did survive the bleach we used
to clean it up a bit, and sorry
if we have disturbed the balance here.

We should have left the grave untouched,
the ivy growing out of every crack,
the green slime taking over. But I think
you like it better cleansed and spic and span.

Sometimes I see you rise
and take a broom and do it properly,
more efficiently than I could ever do.
But still. Night gran. And take it easy.

Comments on: "Grave" (16)

  1. Aw this made me smile, sigh, shed a tear; all sorts of emotions in one short read. Love it L&H xx

    • Thank you very much Christine ๐Ÿ™‚ My grandmother was rather serious and sober, not easy to understand perhaps, but now I am a grandmother myself , I remember more of her as the person she was as well. L&H xx

  2. I love this, Ina. I haven’t heard the phrase spic and span in ages…probably not since my mother died. ..although now that I think of it, in 1999 LatinosUSA, a Mexican-American association, organized a boycott against Spic and Span because the word “spic” is a derogatory term for a person of Latin descent. Your poem has me seeing my own gran rising out of her grave to sweep it spotless! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you very much Cynthia. We went to clean the graves of my parents and 3 grandparents this morning, so that is why I wrote this. Spic and Span was a brand name for some kind of soap I think ๐Ÿ™‚ Never knew that the name had a different meaning! My grandmother lived in a small street, where every woman would shrub the brickstones of the road until the sand between them was vanished ๐Ÿ™‚ It was called the mirror street because of the cleanness of those women ๐Ÿ™‚ I think she was a bit more laid back though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I understand this. I have been revisiting and tweaking a poem about my grandmother (Nana) and thinking how I never really knew her. She died when I was 16. I may repost the tweaked edition sometime xx

  4. When I die you may cover my gravestone in yoghurt.

  5. This made me smile, yet it was touching, too, Ina. I didn’t know my grandparents, but I did think of my Mom, which brought a tear…โ™ฅ

  6. Beautiful, and reminds me that I must go and clean my parents grave.

  7. Very, very poignant, Ina. How a spirit lives on and affects and even motivates us as the person did while they lived. Perhaps, that is why a grave … or somewhere to visit – even a tree – is important. Lovely. XO โค

Leave a Reply

