Save the fruit

You eat an apple.
There is a snapping sound
as your teeth enter the skin.

I know that it is screaming,
but you insist all is silent
while you go on killing the fruit.

I saw another apple crying on the tree.
Don’t tell me it is dew.
I know that it is mourning.

Comments on: "Save the fruit" (6)

  1. Cynthia Jobin said

    I don’t know what you intended, Ina, but this is such a perfect specimen of the “pathetic fallacy” ….love it! A good laugh a day keeps the doctor away. 🙂

    • Thank you Cynthia! I removed the first draft of this poem, so I think that is the reason your comment went into hiding, but I found it. 🙂

  2. Perceptive concept, elegant execution, very moving. Nice Ina.

  3. Bang on target.

Leave a Reply

