Undertow

The sea in front of me
is the tear mountain’s top
which I started climbing years ago,
sometimes finding my path
in a parallel of the horizon,
sometimes lifted on a wave, or
getting ship wrecked in a storm,
and when I am in calmer water,
always reminded of what it is
that keeps me floating, and
of what it is that lies beneath
in cold and darkness. The undertow.

Comments on: "Undertow" (8)

  1. That undertow is always there

  2. The sea as mountain, a comparison I wouldn’t have thought.

  3. This is wonderful, Ina! The undertow reminds us, I think, that, no matter how well we can swim, we are not in control. XO ❤

Leave a Reply

