Burning the road map

Divulging old patterns
the roadmap outlived
dreams of our wandering.
Now the paper is torn,
the journey about over.
Unfolded the dream
has become a memento
of what was our reality.
We shall light the fire with it
and move on, trusting
only the stars as our guide.

Comments on: "Burning the road map" (21)

  1. Very good, Ina ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I do like the image of the roadmap, Ina, and the underlying mood of philosophical acceptance.

  3. Hi Ina. As a native English speaker may I suggest that ‘lit’ should be ‘light’? Please delete this comment. ๐Ÿ™‚ all the best, John

    • Thank you so much John! No need to have the comment deleted I think, I am glad with the help, really appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚ All the best to you too!

  4. A great poem Ina. I too love the analogy of the road map. And following the stars is lovely although I would probably even find that difficult. As for maps, I dont even begin to look! Just a maze of lines to me! I cant even go the right way down a hotel hallway when I go out of a room! ๐Ÿ˜Š. Diane shared a lovely quote recently that said something like even if we go down the wrong road it can take us to the right destination. L&H xx

    • Thank you Christine. Ah, the right destination, no matter how we get there, as long as we do perhaps ๐Ÿ™‚ I love maps, I think I can read them well too ๐Ÿ™‚ but I often get a bit lost in cities, map and all, just because squares get me confused! L&H xx

  5. Nice little ritual, this burning. It’s nice to think the map “outlived our dreams” and that the dreams go on.

  6. Love the imagery.

  7. It is good to know madness. Tossed out the road map. Follow the direction of the highway. I enjoyed this poem. Thank you.

  8. I rewrite your words on my heart with the ashes of my own map…your stars are my compass..

  9. Having entered my 7th decade of life I feel this way.

Leave a Reply

