All that remains

At the end of the day
all that remains:
a shell from the beach,
a note, a faded message,
the memory
of your skin on mine,
the salty smell,
the flowers decaying. Rain
and the distance increasing
between you and me.
A dog far way
hauling my pain.

Comments on: "All that remains" (15)

  1. You hit that one high over the left field fence. Nice.

  2. Pulled it to the square leg boundary for 6, more like!

  3. A lovely poem, Ina. It’s very interesting to say “hauling” your pain, as if the dog is slowly carrying it for you. I expected “howling” there, instead of “hauling”. It works, either way! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you Cynthia ๐Ÿ™‚ I meant “howling”, but as “hauling” sounds like “howling” and has another meaning that I like, I have decided to keep it hauling. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Queen to Knight 4 – check mate…! xxx

  5. I love it Ina! And I thought hauling was great as soon as I read it. I never imagined it as howling though yes they would both fit. Im with Cynthia, hauling sounds really good. Im pleased you kept it there. L &H xx

Leave a Reply

