Poems should be

Poems should be sad
with no happy ending;
dark, moving straight forward
deep into the soul
where pain hides,
where truth lies
there they must enter,
twist and turn,
nestle, build a home
and never get out.

Comments on: "Poems should be" (13)

  1. good description.

  2. Reblogged this on Michael's Lair and commented:
    Ina does it again!

  3. Shery Alexander Heinis said:

    The dark side of poetry – yes, poems can be profound, dense and dark, biting and , but hey could also be light, warm, sunny and hopeful. They express the entire gamut of emotions and provide expression for whomever you are at any stage in your life.

    • Hi Shery, thank you for sharing your thoughts! I am just finding my way through poetry and it struck me that I “get” some sort of funny poems which have a sad untertow, (Paul Durcan’s poetry that is) don’t care about anything with hope in it (Maya Angelou is not for me ) and really feel the good sad ones. I would like to write more like Paul Durcan btw šŸ™‚

      • Shery Alexander Heinis said:

        This is very interesting. I do write a lot of dark poetry, but I also write what I hope are uplifting poems. And that is the gift of poetry. It allows us to be whomever and whatever we want to and be comfortable with whatever form we choose. I enjoyed your poems and appreciated the depth.

  4. With you all the way Ina except…they must get out, as this one did…

  5. Some of mine are very dark but they are usually the ones about me!! Lol. I do try to write the dark with an undertone of humour but sometimes I cant because of how Im feeling. Maybe Im just a miserable sod! Although I do write “happy” sometimes I think šŸ˜Š . L&H xx

    • I think your poems are lovely. šŸ™‚ I am sure the way we feel effects how we write. Every mood has its own charm! šŸ™‚ L&H xx

  6. šŸ˜ŠšŸ˜Š xx

Leave a Reply

