Nights

Manoeuvering near the abyss in dark storm,
or balancing on unseen threads over the deep
I try to sleep but sleep and movement seem
absurd, my mind and body live by means
of quietness in dull and nightly hours.

I dream of children that are grown ups now
and yet as babies they keep falling in black holes,
their fragile limbs are out of reach and gone.
I cry each time the abyss grins at me and hear
the echo of his laughter til I am awake.

Comments on: "Nights" (4)

  1. I know those nights, those dreams you tell so well…
    “It is by going down into the abyss that we recover the treasures of life. Where you stumble, there lies your treasure.”
    / Joseph Campbell /

  2. Ooh, I love clinock’s Joseph Campbell quote! The poem is excellent and not as gloomy as it ‘sounds’. Yes, dreams sometimes take us down to the bottom – so much better the feeling when we come up for air. XO โ™ฅ

Leave a Reply

