Unread roadmap

I traveled through every line in your face,
took plunges in cool stubborn lakes there,
nothing new was to be found though,
all had been said in so many ways before I did.

The lines were dry country roads, old
and not leading me anywhere,
the deep lakes too cold to swim in.
I couldn’t offer more than myself:
an unguided tourist lost in every direction.

I came home from a bad expedition,
with no photos to keep and remember you by,
the scars in your face and your bitter cold eyes; I
unread all the lines of your outdated roadmap.

I wrote this to see if the poetry is still in working order 🙂

Comments on: "Unread roadmap" (10)

  1. Very much in working order. Enjoyed the imagery and feelings within.

  2. Well it is very much still in working order Ina; I enjoyed this and am surprised (well Im not really surprised 😊) that you could put together a poem so soon after surgery and tests! L&H xx

    • Thank you Christine! The stiches are stinging a bit, but I am glad I can also work again! L&H xx

  3. You are amazing…and confluence!…was just working on my next poem as a map…

  4. It certainly is in working order, and the extended metaphor here is first class as always.

  5. David said:

    Yep, still working. Favorite line: I couldn’t offer more than myself:
    an unguided tourist lost in every direction.

Leave a Reply

