Like tumble weed

Your letters follow me like tumble weed,
white paper rolling flickering with words,
each line demands me in repeat to stop
from running further. Each sheet is screaming
I should read, although I know the content
well, as every fold is folded to a tear.

You would and will not let me be alone.
Your letters follow me like tumble weed.

Comments on: "Like tumble weed" (10)

  1. I think the tumbleweed is an apt simile for these paper reminders that follow you. “Every fold is folded to a tear” my favorite line.

  2. I agree – the simile of tumbleweed works very well indeed.

    • Hi John, thank you 🙂 The image of tumble weed (I only know that plant from movies) gives a feel of certain loneliness too.

  3. Them old letters, torn, stained and fading, burnt to ashes or still sleeping under the bed or in the sock drawer, maybe not read for years but always tumbling through our hearts. You say true as you always do….

    • Thank you John, what a poetic comment 🙂 Those written letters could be kept for decades; I doubt our emails will. Which is a pity perhaps. Maybe we should print the best emails we get 🙂

  4. I also love the tumbleweed simile, Ina, and “as every fold is folded to a tear” is my favorite line, as well…sometimes even when we try to let go, it’s not enough. 🙂 ♥

  5. From the first line to the last, the tumbleweed imagery is used perfectly. Love it, Ina! XO ♥

Leave a Reply

