Legacy

You left me
your features
to come and show you were right;
I am about to have your face now.

And I say the lines you said,
those cliché wisdoms.
Your optimism and your depressions,
they are all mine now.
Your voice. My voice. Your lines.

I even try to be more like you on purpose
when it comes to perseverance,
when it comes to surviving. You were so strong
and silent when it comes to pain.

And maybe
you would have approved of me,
hugged me even,
and liked me now. Now I’m more
like you and share
your silence and your secrets
in our truce.

This poem was inspired by a wonderful poem “Sunday Mornings” written by my dear friend Christine (Journeyintopoetry) which made me think of this legacy 🙂 http://journeyintopoetry.wordpress.com/2014/06/17/sunday-mornings/

Comments on: "Legacy" (14)

  1. This is very nice, Ina…..funny thing, you say Christine’s “Sunday Mornings” inspired it, but when I read your poem just now, I thought immediately of Christine’s sonnet, “Mirror”!

  2. Nice remembrance. I bet is applauding right now and elbowing neighbor.

  3. Christine’s poem is wonderful, your poem is wonderful…so much inspiration everywhere…

    • Hi John, thank you very much. Sometimes just a word is enough to switch the mind into the right direction for a poem. Of course I am never too sure of the result 🙂

  4. This is a fab poem Ina! And Im pleased I have inspired you! And as Cynthia said at first I thought you were referring to the mirror one! Lol L&H xx

  5. I meant to say I can see why it was the Sunday Morning one though. When I think back to those early days my parents did leave a certain legacy I am happy to now own. Xx

  6. I agree, absolutely xx

  7. There is a certain poignancy in this as we always seem to be in search of that elusive approval. I wonder if we ever really feel good enough.

    • So true, maybe we don’t need to get that approval but maybe that is what it is all about?

  8. What a strange beginning, Ina:
    You left me
    your features
    to come and show you were right;
    I am about to have your face now.
    The meaning is clear: The you in the poem left a memory of their features, but the phrasing is striking. Then to say that “I am about to have your face now,” bringing up a parent’s reflection in the child’s face, adds to the striking aspect of the poem.
    The poem goes on from this beginning to explore how the poet-child, now grown up, is like the parent in so many ways:
    cliché wisdoms.
    Your optimism and your depressions,
    Your voice.
    ending up with a stunning ending:
    Now I’m more
    like you and share
    your silence and your secrets
    in our truce.
    Recognizing that in our effort to gain approval, we become more like the parents we have lost.

    • Thank you. I realized I was using my mothers lines in conversation recently. She probably got them from her mother 🙂 I am old enough now to appreciate that 🙂

Leave a Reply

