This time of year there seems to be no night;
I close my eyes at ten and open them
early at five, to find there’s only light.
Days have no end and no beginning now.

A circle with no start my life is now,
my childhood creatures popping up at night,
which is no night. And Iโ€™m too old for them.
But everywhere and anytime is light.

Watching the others in their circles, light
as they move up and down, from then to now.
We live in circles as we have no night.
Theirs flow like mine. I feel I’m part of them.

Comments on: "This time of year there seems to be no night" (8)

  1. That’s how I like it.

  2. Yes its a strange time of year when day seems to steal the nights. I actually prefer a clear day and night. I still love summer though ๐Ÿ˜Š โค๏ธ Xx

  3. Morpheus is still real…we enter and depart our dreams however short, still needing to go down or up into night and its fantasies. The light fills us awake or sleeping…

    • Yes, to sleep, wonderful sleep… ๐Ÿ™‚ I recently discovered the nap. I never napped, but now I sometimes do and it does work!

  4. These long days … maybe that’s why I feel tired all the time. I love the reflection in this poem and its analogy to life. XO โ™ฅ

    • Thank you very much Diane! Those days with no end! I hope you will feel energetic soon, now you have finished your novel! โ™ฅ xxx

Leave a Reply

