I rule in my own poetry.
No form can tell me what to say:
I say it anyway: if in a rhyming verse
or only in my words which pop up as they do.

I can be terse
or spread my lines all over.
I rule, and make the words follow my thoughts.

I talk and speak my mind to you.
No fence can keep the me inside.
I rule in my own poetry
without a need to hide.

Comments on: "I rule in my own poetry" (25)

  1. That’s right! πŸ™‚

  2. Nobody but yourself can know what you should do in your own poem….though there are plenty of folks out there who think they know better. We have to own our own poems, the good ones and the less good ones alike.

    • Isn’t it great to have your own say in a poem πŸ™‚ Maybe that is what I like most about poetry, that the mind can wander off wherever we want to go … πŸ™‚

  3. Three cheers for rhis poem about poems! It makes me feel better about mine and youre right, they are ours! No one else is in charge, just us! How liberating! 😊 L&H xx

  4. I’ve had the same critique except I like to rhyme. There are times when it’s too much trouble then I will free verse.. I’ve got the key to my cell.

    • πŸ™‚ Finding the right words to say what you want, and putting them in the right order for yourself: I suppose that is what it is all about.

  5. Love the power behind your words, Ina, which is why i’m not crazy about small poetry groups that critique. It’s really just their own opinion. How you wrote it is what you intended and of course, many times poems can be perceived in several ways, but at the end of the day, you wrote it, you own it. I hope this makes sense as I’m rambling! πŸ™‚ β™₯

    • Hi Lauren,
      I do appreciate comments about the poems I write, so far I always get supportive comments so I am lucky πŸ™‚ And a lot of poets online really help me to get further, esp. about forms, and they help me with correct spelling etc, which is great. You are probably right about critique on what a poem means or how it should have been written, which is only up to the writer I think, but so far no one gave me such critique πŸ™‚ β™₯

      • I agree with you about forms, etc. and I haven learned so much since I started my blog. I never really studied poetry (confession), so sharing my work here and reading others has been a good learning tool. I’m glad you’ve only had positive comments…I once wrote a poem about cancer, from cancer’s perspective. It was dark and I shared it in a meeting. One man told me that I was “brave” to have written it. That comment still bugs me to this day. πŸ™‚ Well, not really, but I won’t forget it and I wonder why he thought I was brave. We’ve lost many loved ones and friends to this horrible disease and so I wrote about it from a darker angle, just like cancer is…dark. Oh well, just sharing with you and that’s why I shy away from small poetry circles. I’m probably weak in doing so and maybe I’ll try one again in the future…sorry for the long message! β™₯

        • I never studied poetry either and I agree, so much we can learn from each other, also get critique but always in a nice, uplifting way I hope! πŸ™‚ Also we dare the boldness of doing what is not done before perhaps because we feel safe writing on a blog (until the critiques come lol) πŸ™‚ The person in your group might have thought it was brave to write about something so dark, while you didn’t see that it was brave at all. But that doesn’t mean it wasn’t πŸ™‚ β™₯

  6. Yes, poetry…what is this thing we do, we jugglers and magicians of language? Are we a threatened species? Who out there listens to our dance and wrestle with our deepest feelings except other poets? What is metaphor and mystery to the many? Do we speak only for ourselves? Are we heard by the homeless sleeping in the doorway of Starbucks, by the teenage prostitute at the cenotaph or the dealer of drugs in the downtown bar? Who or what is a poet?

    • Hi John, poetry is so many things, I’m only discovering what it is. And what it can mean to others what we write. πŸ™‚

  7. Absolutely! Poetry comes from somewhere study cannot answer to, Ina! And, from you, it flows from a source of such talent and depth. XO β™₯

Leave a Reply

