Your lingering

Among the material that is you,
(breathing, body, footsteps)
lingers more, the you that has no name.
Iโ€™ve grown accustomed to its gentle meaning,
sensing you from every distance
not just by your voice.

Out of the abyss that is time
you will be heard in echos,
in a breeze, in whispers;
I shall remember you
by body, by mind, by affection
as I hear footsteps moving on.

Comments on: "Your lingering" (6)

  1. This is lovely Ina! And on a personal level it tells me I am stiil the me I was before MS. There is much more than the body, although it does come in handy!! Lol l&H xx

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you very much Christine!
      It was written as a love poem, but I can see other meanings in it as well ๐Ÿ™‚ L&H xxx

  2. A very loving poem!

  3. David said:

    Wonderful term, lingerling, for the “you that has no name.”

Leave a Reply

