Meet My Main Character: Maria

I was kindly tagged by my dear friend Diane M. Denton, ( she is the author of several short stories, and of the historical fiction novel “A House Near Luccoli” as well as she is a wonderful poet and artist) ,
to participate in the ‘Meet My Main Character (of a work in progress or soon to be published novel)’ blog tour.

I highly recommend Diane’s published novel, and encourage you to read here about her soon-to-be-released sequel of A House Near Luccoli 🙂

I am originally a fiction writer, I have written 305 Dutch novels of the light genre, they were published by Marken BV in Venlo, the Netherlands, and I also wrote 2 English poetry books, “Veritas” and “Amor” both published by Winter Goose Publishing in California.

I decided to write a novel in English, a thriller, after a friend and English poet said I should give it a try.

While I was thinking about it, the story of Maria found its way to my mind. I can’t reveal too much of course, but here are my answers to the questions that are a part of this blog tour:

1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or a historic person?

Maria Bleeker is a fictional character.

2) When and where is the story set?

The story takes place from her birth in 1972 till recent, in Belgium, Amsterdam and England (Yorkshire).

3) What should we know about Maria?

Maria is an orphan, her parents were killed during a road accident when she was a baby. She grows up with her grandparents in Belgium; her grandmother, a former schoolteacher, homeschools her.

4) What is Maria’s main conflict?

Maria has been kept away from the world and she seems very naive. The people who love her most, make sure she is taken care of, but one day Maria needs to prove she can cope with an impossible situation.

5) What is Maria’s personal goal?

Maria has to survive, that is the main thing.

6) Is there a working title for this novel, and can we read more about it?

It is titled “Maria’s Journey”. (for now, that is)

7) When can we expect the book to be published?

I have not set a date, I am in a very early stage! When it is about to be finished, I shall look for a publisher.

I am now supposed to tag 5 writers with characters of new novels to introduce. This was not easy at all but I have managed to find 2 wonderful writers at least 🙂

My writers to explore:
Joseph Falank

Peter Wells

Thank you so much for visiting!

Comments on: "Meet My Main Character blog tour: Maria" (9)

  1. Very much looking forward to this Ina!! L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you, me too ! 🙂 This is a huge challenge for me really. Writing a poem in English is one thing, but a novel… 🙂 L&H xx

  2. You will do it, I have no doubts! ❤ Xx

  3. Thanks so much for participating, Ina! Now you are really committed to “Maria’s Journey”! LOL And I can’t say how in awe of you I am for writing a novel in English. XO ♥

    • Hi Diane, yes no way back now 🙂 I am trying to find the right point of view at the moment 🙂 It is going to be a very interesting project for me! 🙂 ♥

  4. Intriguing.

  5. Well, that’s a mysterious plot…Consider me to be on the edge of my seat 🙂

Leave a Reply

