If a bat decides not to hang upside down,
is that a defected bat,
or does that mean
a new species is born?

You don’t fit in, so it seems,
but maybe the world doesn’t fit into you.
You are a bat,
and you won’t hang upside down.

Maybe you are the first of many
with a new way of thinking
and will you fly out of the cave,
not in darkness, but when the sun shines.

Comments on: "I compare you to a bat" (12)

  1. I often reflect that the fruit fly evolved because one fly decided no longer to eat… er… the usual fly diet.

    • They drink a lot of Retsina I think 🙂 (Well they swam in mine when I was in Greece. )

  2. Non-conformity is the mother of invention!

  3. and then its wings will fall off and it will walk upright out of the cave of ignorance into a new day, waggling opposable thumbs and eating an apple…

  4. Makes me wonder if bats consider up to be down and down to be up…

  5. Ina, this is a great poem! I love it. It reminds me of a story by the American poet Randall Jarrell called “The Bat Poet.” It’s one of my favorite stories, and I have had it in my library for years. Where does difference lead? Ah, if only bats could talk.

    • Hi Thomas, thank you very much 🙂 Difference leads to the truth perhaps. ?
      ( lol I first read your comment wrong and I thought you had a bat in your library 🙂 )
      I shall look up Randall Jarrell’s poem on the internet.

  6. I really enjoyed this, Ina (and your reply to Thomas Davis that “difference leads to truth.”) From bats to kitties … mine often will hang off the couch or a chair so they are viewing everything upside down, and I’ll ask them “Does it all make more sense to you that way?” 🙂 XO ♥
    (LOVE bats by the way!)

Leave a Reply

