English

Can I dance a bit longer, tip toeing
through your language, the beautiful, the best,
carefully omitting, waltzing right over
obstacles like grammar or rightful use,
tense, dialect and pronunciation?

My mouth uses different muscles and my
voice now moves from another, less lazy
position. Whenever I speak English,
I feel my tongue doing body building.
Unaware of its gems, I pirouette.

The floor a shining new adventure, no
barriers from the past to tell me how
to do tangos here, I dance my own dance
while every sentence is a new sunrise
and every movement as old as the world.

Comments on: "English" (25)

  1. “every sentence is a new sunrise
    and every movement as old as the world.

    Delicious imagery in this paradox.

  2. you do English beautifully

  3. Reblogged this on stgreenie.

  4. And one day you’ll strange it up with the rest of us. πŸ˜‰

  5. since the womb I’ve spoken English but never as beautifully as you…

  6. Colin Morley said:

    I never cease to admire your skills in a language not your own. A very well-crafted piece demonstrating the boldness which is so typical of your writing. Long may you continue to dance your own dance!

  7. I shall now look at my native tongue in a new light. I am speechless.

  8. Oh this is wonderful Ina! Your poor tongue with all that body building! An absolutely terrific poem and the last lines are a wow! 😊 L&H xx

  9. Absolutely amazing, Ina, and your word play and metaphors exude beautiful imagery. You make English sound just lovely. πŸ™‚ xo

  10. Good Lord, Ina. This is an absolutely wonderful poem. There are no wasted lines. The topic stretches us English speakers to look at our language in a way we do not usually look at it, and the imagery dances with language in a memorable way. You can really write, Ina. I can’t keep up with you. You simply pour language on blank paper so quickly that it seems like an endless stream bubbling from an inexhaustible spring. This is a good poem.

    • Thank you very much Thomas. I am very pleased with your wonderful feedback. And I do love the English language, so much even I sometimes think I should not try and write in it. If that makes sense πŸ™‚

  11. Thomas said it – how you really have us English speakers thinking about our language in new ways. I am awe of anyone who speaks one or more languages beyond their native one, and, especially, to write it as poetically and meaningfully as you do. In the sequel to ‘A House …’, one of the challenges I had was that Donatella didn’t speak English much at all when she first arrived in England. I actually have her relating better to it through the written (especially poetically) than spoken word. “She wanted to think English should only be used for practical expression, so she might need it without ever really loving it; but it was inevitable that a writer in one language would be unable to resist the poetry of another.”

    This a wonderful poem, Ina, one that only you could have written! XO β™₯

    • Thank you very much Diane. How well you write: You have given Donatella’s character exactly the words to portrait the experience of a foreigner with a new language. The inevitable love that comes with it. πŸ™‚ β™₯

Leave a Reply

