Already on the first day after birth
he made a statement heard all over town:
a noise which made his worried parents frown.
A little screamer causing lots of mirth
he was, so loud his cry, not of this earth.
He grew up fast, and soon the son looked down
on dad and mum, whilst making too much sound.
He grew a giant with enormous girth.

No chair could hold the lad when he was four,
they had to move away because of this
and built a new place for their giant son.
There came a time he had do leave the door,
their lovely boy who they would dearly miss
had reached a tree like size. So he was gone.

Goliath went, moved on
and fought his way, became a household name,
a hero, who forgot from where he came.
Once slain, no more the same,
his mother found him and she brought him back,
her little baby, with the ten ton neck.

๐Ÿ™‚ I hope this is a real Miltonian Caudate Sonnet!

Comments on: "Mother’s baby (A Miltonian Caudate Sonnet)" (21)

  1. Reblogged this on stgreenie.

  2. Tom Davis was right! One did pour out of you staightaway!! This is great. I am out of my depth! Lol L&H xx

  3. I get a big kick out of you, Ina!

  4. Inevitable, Ina. Inevitable. I only wish I could let a poem drop out of my sleeve the way you can. I work weeks on these things sometimes. What a sonnet too! Goliath from his mother’s perspective! When poetry turns around on the reader and makes him or her see inside out, then the poem has succeeded wonderfully, and this succeeds wonderfully Ina, O maker of verse without effort. Wow.

    • Hi Thomas, thank you very much. You are such a very good poet yourself, so I am very pleased that you come by this blog and how you always manage to give this wonderful feedback I don’t know.
      Maybe I write a bit too fast, I have no patience. Quite often I find errors in the poems after I put them on the blog. And I really hate it that most words are one syllable lol, so I think I need to read more English. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I have to admit, that’s a good angle. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I have no idea what a Miltonian Caudate Sonnet is and am too tired to look it up but I enjoyed and smiled at your poem…maybe one from David is now due…

    • I read one on Thomas Davis’ blog, then I googled to see if there were any angles, and this is what I came up with. ๐Ÿ™‚

      ps Which David do you mean?

      • The David and Goliath David…the Michelangelo David, he of the ‘slings’ of outrageous fortune…David the giant slayer…

  7. You told that really well, and managed to make it sound like a genuine saga. Very clever and entertaining, and impressive

  8. David said:

    Well, as one of the many David’s, I have to say I don’t think I have a poem in me as large as a Miltonian Caudate Sonnet. I didn’t even know one existed until Ina came along.

Leave a Reply

