My reward

To leave the sweets untouched
for as long as possible,
a postponed reward
till my weakness would win:
I did it as a child.
Twenty five toffees I saved,
sticking together in my drawer.

As this is like my love for you,
I wait to show you my affection.

Longing is the best part.
As long as I can
I shall keep it a secret, then: tell,
a sweet reward for nothing special,
for me on an obscure day,
with ordinary problems,
solving one (and creating some more).

Comments on: "My reward" (11)

  1. This is so nice, Ina, from the mess of toffee in a drawer to the inevitability of one problem following another…maybe anticipation of delight is better than the actual happening…

    • Thank you Cynthia, yes, I think the anticipation is the best part πŸ™‚ And it is also the postponing of a disappointment maybe… πŸ™‚ My mother would give me a toffee each evening when I went to bed (lol, I don’t think a dentist would agree to this ) and I saved them as I liked the idea of having a lot to eat all at once one day. But she found out and she stopped the daily treat. Also a bummer lol.

  2. I agree that anticipation is always better, or worse, than the thing itself. Wonderful poetry, as always.

  3. Eat the toffees. There’s no toffee in your coffin.

  4. Love this! And yes, the anticipation is always the best par! Expeience is speaking 😊 L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, I think it is the same with holidays. The weeks before, the planning, the wondering, all part of the deal πŸ™‚ L&H xx

  5. bitter sweet…

Leave a Reply

