Swan

The thought came, a swan in my day,
landing on the surface of the lake
corrugating the water, shaping
endless flows of new thoughts
in the cool and green haze
of the silent morning.
Then she spread her wings
to fly away again, leaving
me calmer as the water forgot.

Comments on: "Swan" (20)

  1. I’ve just turned on to that, Ina, and what a way to start my day.

  2. Very Zen Ina…water…swan…there…gone…a haunting image to take into my sleep…goodnight…

  3. WOWZA, this is fabulous, Ina–I love that thoughts might come as swans.

  4. this is so very fine!!!

  5. You always extract so much, so beautifully, from the smallest event

  6. “…as the water forgot.” Is just wonderful!

  7. I love that phrase “corrugated the water, and of course, its refrain in “as the water forgot.”
    A swan song for sure, but the opposite of an ending:)

  8. Love the last sentence.

Leave a Reply

