The forsaken son

The ninth of all the hours, cruelest, black,
no mother wants a child go through this pain,
forsake Your only son, why not abstain,
return to him? Instead You turned your back.

His death had impact to the world that’s ours,
but at what price, and causing so much grief,
a mother sees her son die for belief,
in cruelest black, the ninth of all the hours.

To die this way, his mother at his side,
what kind of father are You, asking this?
What had he done? – What has he done? For me?

Perhaps my questions are a sin, not right,
and maybe I should find his cry a bliss:
“Eli, Eli, lama sabachtani!”

Comments on: "The forsaken son" (13)

  1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P21qlB0K-Bs I listened and I got the idea for this poem.

  2. As always, Ina, you blend form and subject seamlessly to create something very powerful. This is a hard topic to tackle, but you’ve found a way into it and given us something both personal, and universal. A great piece of work. N.x

    • Hi Nick, yes, the topic made me doubt a bit, as I was raised with religion, but I am an atheist really, still, I am impressed with the story of Jesus and the impact his life has had on humanity and history. Thank you! And have a great time in France! 🙂 x

  3. Psalm 22, of which ‘Eloi, Eloi, lama sabachthani’ are the initial words, turns into a hymn of praise at verse 22, as though despite feeling forsaken, the Psalmist is still determined to praise God.

    • Hi Marie, thank you. It is a fascinating story of a father and a son I think. ( I found “Eli” and “Eloi” both used, btw, so I decided on Eli)

      • re Eli/Eloi, yes, the former in Matthew, the latter in Mark. The differentiation is there in the Greek text too, ‘ ἠλί ‘ and ‘ ἐλωΐ ‘. Of course each represents a phonetic approximation of the Hebrew word ‘אלי’, so there is latitude in either.

        (I hope these Greek and Hebrew characters are visible in this comment field)

  4. Wow Ina, what a subject o tackle! Well done! But then you can write well about anything! L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you 🙂 It always puzzled me what father would do that to his son, it seemed too cruel. L&H xx

  5. Ugh! Dont get me going on this one! It’s crazy! 😊 Xx

  6. Bach’s ‘Passion’ is supreme in my life and I understand how it led to your tender words. When I think of JC’s father I never think of a god but of Joseph, a cuckolded dad who had to absorb and deal with a reality that must have led to madness…and yet he is rarely mentioned and never appears at the end of it all…although he surely was there, supporting and caring with hands smelling of sawdust and a heart denied entrance to the mystery…

    • It must have been weird for him to have a wife and son who claimed to be related to God.
      Joseph’s name lives on in hospital names, I suppose he is a patron of the sick? It is amazing how Jesus seems similar to Buddha btw, they lived in different ages, but they are much alike. Maybe the writers of the New Testament were inspired by Buddha …?

Leave a Reply

