Our shared fate

We share our fate in languages half learnt,
our words have traveled days of evolution,
in nights our dreams make how we think
and make up for illusion.
We say more than we know.

Combine the two, the day and night,
and we can speak of destination.
Maybe our fate is that we can not stay for long,
we carry so much burden on our road,
we cope and think that heavy lifting makes us strong.

We die although we always thought we would not.
But now and then we may return in quotes,
in dΓ©jΓ  vus and photos,
in names and hastily written notes.
We could not disappear, or so we hope.

Comments on: "Our shared fate" (18)

  1. Very nice, Ina. πŸ™‚

  2. I do like that closing stanza very much. I mean, the poem is lovely, but the last stanza is lovelier.

    • Hi David, thank you very much πŸ™‚ Maybe I should skip the first 2 stanza’s. It might be a good idea!

      • Actually, i forgot. No apostrophe in photos necessary. But you do so well with English in poetry, the flow and especially in rhyme. I only know one language. I marvel at the ability to write in two.

        • I changed it! Thank you! πŸ™‚ Well, I should be able to do it in more languages than 2 but the grammar in German and French is a bit hard. English is a very hospitable language. And the number of words is enormous! πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful, as always–and interesting at the end, as I think I’d prefer to simply disappear.

  4. Lovely poem. Id like to go on being remembered, or else it all seems pointless to me 😊 L&H xx

  5. Hi Christine, yes, I suppose that is why we write. To be remembered. But if we are not, we still have had a life full of poems πŸ™‚ and no one can take it away from us! L&H xxx

  6. Ina, I’m so sorry not to have commented on your earlier poems; I’ve been crazy busy ‘coping and thinking that heavy lifting makes us strong’ (a great line) – and finding it really doesn’t work that way. I will get round them, I promise. But this one is gorgeous: it’s my ambition to make it into a book of quotes one day! N.x

    • Hi Nick, thank you very much! πŸ™‚ I know you are busy! Looking forward to your book of quotes πŸ™‚ x

  7. You will still be writing after you are gone, for sure πŸ˜‰

  8. This is basically a poem of declarative sentences, Ina. Most of the lines are complete sentences that punctuate over and over again the poem’s message. Some of the lines are truly memorable:
    We share our fate in languages half learnt.
    Our words have traveled days of evolution.
    We cope and think that heavy lifting makes us strong.
    But now and then we may return in quotes,
    in dΓ©jΓ  vus and photos,
    in names and hastily written notes.

  9. Such a rich piece, Ina, which, of course, speaks to a fellow writer. It is a conundrum; I think … I like the thought of disappearing and, yet, want to be remembered … if only for disappearing in my writing.

    Many lovely lines in the poem, but this is my favorite:
    ‘We say more than we know.’ XO β™₯

Leave a Reply

