Evergreen (Droighneach)

2nd attempt:

Evergreen are meadows in my memory,
their mold and draught are far, forgotten
though my head owes room to this sweet scenery,
my sons, now old, but both begotten
out of love, appearing in illusion,
a dearing illustration how I roughly remember
the raw contradiction in days of cruel confusion,
the cold of snow that covered in darkest december
what dared to try and fuel life under solid surfaces
with plants living as wildest wintergreen
the silent time so used for pronounced purposes;
memories are giving enigmatic evergreen.

I am not quite sure I did it right here, but wanted to give it a try

Comments on: "Evergreen (Droighneach)" (33)

  1. Hah! You’re a riot, Ina!

    • lol I hope I got it right, I found the info in your comment to Thomas Davis πŸ™‚ Not much to be found about this form online.

  2. The “cross rhymes” and”alliteration” requirements are not fulfilled, by the way. What are you going to do about it?

  3. Each couplet has cross rhymes….x x x x b x x x x a
    X x a x x x x x x x x b

    Each line has alliteration within, with its last word…..preferably the stressed syllable that precedes that last word… Have fun! :_)

  4. I admire your spirit, Ina, I really do!

  5. I think you’ve got the alliteration!

    • The only droigneach I found, had no cross rhymes and no alliteration, so it is hard to see how it should be done πŸ™‚

  6. Sure looks like you did it right to me. Well done!

  7. Oh my gosh! My head needs a rest just reading the comments!!! I stand defeated!! πŸ˜„ L&H xx

  8. Widow Beach said:

    I’m blown away again–beautifully visual and evocative. I was already fascinated by your superior facility with form and language–then I read the comment exchange between you and Cynthia–oh my goodness, not sure I’d want to try this form, but I will have a look at the “rules”.

    • HI WB, thank you very much. πŸ™‚ Cynthia did one as an ode to me (lol) in the comment section of her blog, it is a good example of what is meant with those cross rhymes!

  9. Good gracious. I looked it up, read the rules and felt rather faint. Many congratulations, Ina; I haven’t even dared attempt this yet. And to make a beautiful poem from it, not just strictly following the form, is a real achievement. N.x

    • Hi Nick, thank you, I am not sure my English vocabulary can manage another one, but I might try πŸ™‚ x

  10. Congratulations to you, Ina. I like the way you pick up on suggestions and ideas in comments and in other blogs. I’ve found comments and discussion very helpful and stimulating too.

    • Hi John, thank you very much πŸ™‚ Yes, Cynthia really helped me to understand this new poetry form!

  11. Wonderful.
    I have never heard of this form before.
    Your love of language shines through πŸ™‚

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David,
      thank you very much, well it is an Irish word, I don’t know much about it yet either. Yes, I do love language, esp. English! πŸ™‚

      Arohanui
      xxx

  12. Ina, writing a Droigneach, or any other of the Irish forms, is a major accomplishment. Anyone who manages to get a close approximation in English deserves to be called a wordmaster. I’ve read a few Droigneach, and there are variations in how they are written, so your effort deserves to be called successful. I’ve been struggling to write one for several days now. I doubt that I will come up to the standard you have accomplished here. Cynthia’s praise poem is, as you would expect, absolutely perfect and a minor masterpiece, but I love your boldness and skill. I really liked the line,
    …raw contradiction in days of cruel confusion
    The alliteration is really effective.
    The contemplation of memory, involving memories of your sons
    …both begotten
    out of love…
    is also effective.
    Congratulations on a great effort.

    • Hi Thomas, thank you very much. So there are more Irish forms to explore ! πŸ™‚ I shall try and write a more proper Droigneach, it is like doing a sudoku with words and thoughts. It is very good to learn new words, thus extending my vocabulary in the process πŸ™‚ Every poem is an excersize for the mind I suppose and so it should be.

      • The old Celts had 12 forms, Ina. I am going to try another one soon, but first I need to write another droighneach.

        • I found a site with Celtic poetry forms, some seem rather mathematical! πŸ™‚ Good luck with the droighneach!

  13. DROIGHNEACH: Tribute To Ina

    Holiday! Proclaim it ! Name her Zesty Czarina,
    Verbena of Verses, and such sobriquets
    for her rich rΓ©sumΓ©: haiku, sonnet, sestina–
    strict yet never subpoena, loose but not negligΓ©e–
    shadorma, villanelle, couplets bucolic,
    dreams symbolic, all sans peer parallel;
    she’s a poetic pimpernel, stepping systolic,
    drunk (non-alcoholic), crystallized caramel.
    Her intrepid play, often gutsy, organic
    and rarely mechanic, is right runaway.
    Not much more to say of a gifted, galvanic
    talent titanic—just this: she’s a high holiday!

Leave a Reply

