I Love You

Another line you said that puzzles me,
its meaning lost in laughter and your wink,
it should be written in the bluest ink,
a phrase so beautiful, it can not be.

Your kindness flows in such abundancy,
the sentences you whisper always link
to what you mean to me, but what to think
of how you act, that seems to disagree?

The words you tell me: I shall take them light,
not much expecting, as they seem too good
for truth, and you are such a lie, you are.

I don’t believe that you will stay all night,
but let this knowledge not ruin the mood:
the best in love is you, the best by far.

πŸ˜‰

Comments on: "I Love You" (18)

  1. You are clearly on a roll!! πŸ™‚

    I can’t keep up.

    But I think you have been thoroughly enjoying yourself and that in itself makes me smile πŸ™‚

    In response to this poem the phrase which comes to mind is ‘Words mean nothing, actions mean everything’

    Have fun
    Much Love

    David xxx

    • Hi David, well it is fun to do these formal ones πŸ™‚ I am sorry I am going too fast for you to read them !
      Words mean a lot but when actions deny them, yes, what is worth more πŸ™‚

      Much love to you too
      xxx

  2. Oh, I read them all Ina.

    And am impressed by the consistent quality you maintain.

    I just don’t have time to comment on the all πŸ™‚

    David xxx

    • lol I can imagine it takes a lot of time to reply on every one! πŸ™‚ I think I am not doing it well on the pentameter at times, but I shall try to do better πŸ™‚ xxx

  3. Like belfastdavid, I read all of your posts but can’t keep the pace…..not if I want to say more than a quick complimentary word or two! You do seem to have a nice easy control of the sonnet form….which seems to have originated in Italy and stuck to the decasyllabic line. When the English got hold of it, they kept the ten syllables per line, but added the iambic beat —which doesn’t necessarily hold for Italian, or French (I’m dealing with this difference in my translations of Louise LabΓ©…she wrote the ten syllables, but they were not always iambic pentameter because French accents are not like English accents.)Some of your lines can be read as strictly iambic, and some, not. But varying the beat keeps things interesting…..as Gerard Manly Hopkins “sprung rhythm” tries to tell us….and variety is the spice of life. Way to go, Ina!

    • Oh Cynthia, thank you so much … That you and David and others take the effort to read them, is so rewarding! The stricktness of those formal poems make it that many are put off I think, but if I get away with it cheating a bit, I am glad πŸ™‚ Nevertheless, I shall try to keep the iambic rhythm in mind ! πŸ™‚ x

  4. I can only echo what David and Cynthia have said: I’m awestruck by both your prolificacy, and the quality of your writing. Once the imabic rhythm gets intot your head, it’s very hard to shake it – take it from one who knows..! N.x

  5. Widow Beach said:

    Truly phenomenal writing, Ina–and oh, I know about the dissonance between words and actions; I married and lived with a lie for 3 years.

    • Thank you WB, I am sorry to hear about the marriage. 3 years like that must have been an awful long time!

  6. learning a lot about form, especially mine having to run so fast to keep up to you :)…fascinating explorations Ina…

    • Hi John, thank you! I shall have to slow down as another novel is waiting to be written! πŸ™‚

  7. Why is it that ambivalence is so powerful in writing about love/emotions? At least, I think so, and this one, to me, exemplifies that. XO β™₯

  8. I am like everyone else, Ina. I can’t keep up. I am also a little envious. It can take me a week or more and many hours to write a single poem. A droighneach takes me into two weeks or more. You seem to write one everyday, or maybe more than one a day. I think Cynthia’s comment above is right on, as usual. Nick Moore is the master of strictly iambic for the most part, and his sonnets are uniformly masterpieces of good craftsmanship, and poets who are craftsmen are rare in the contemporary world. I admire him a whole lot. You are looser with the traditional forms, but still use them very effectively. This is a clever, intricate love poem that I read with delight.

    • Thank you again Thomas, for all the comments. I sometimes write a lot, but the last few days I had to slow down, my eyes give some trouble. But tomorrow, who knows πŸ™‚ I think it doesn’t matter how long it takes, it’s the result and a poem that took more time, is probably a very thorough and well thought poem.

Leave a Reply

