One of these days the world will come to end,
it is not certain what will happen then,
no matter if you practise church or zen,
we probably shall die, it may depend.

One of these days we’ll know where dead folk went,
a concept, new to every kind of man,
Apocalypse will come, no one knows when,
but soon they say, are you afraid my friend?

The world will always be, I do not care
what others say, as they just have no clue
and if that time has come, well we shall see.

One of these days ahead we must go there,
and walk the route the way all people do,
to find there’s more for us, and all be free.

Comments on: "Apocalypse when? (Italian sonnet)" (12)

  1. Another Italian sonnet! My dearest friend in the world was Italian….you’ll know youve arrived when you start making extravagant hand gestures as you recite these sonnets! 🙂

    • Hi Cynthia, lol well the rhythm of these sonnets soon sticks in the mind and before you know it you start thinking in those lines 🙂

  2. Widow Beach said:

    Oh you are ambitious today!! Bravo (or is it brava?)!

  3. This is great, Ina – you’ve had a fantastic week of writing. What’s so impressive is that you manage to produce both amazing quality AND quantity! You’re an example and inspiration. N.x

    • Hi Nick, thank you very much for your kind words. It is because of your wonderful postings that I tried sonnets again. Maybe I am a quick writer, yesterday I wrote 4 poems, not always sure that is good. I just don’t have the patience to wait and reconsider and I often think that would be wise! 🙂 x

      • I didn’t do the iambic pentameter, or how is it called, right, forgot to think of that lol. 🙂

  4. This is a wonderful sequence of poems.

    You post them too fast for me to keep up 🙂

    I have great admiration for your willingness and ability to try these different forms.

    Well done you

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  5. I can’t keep up with you, Ina! I tend to work days, if not weeks, on a poem! You are certainly mastering a lot of difficult forms! Wow!

Leave a Reply

