Cynosure

WP_002018

Polaris, you matter now
after what has been
attracted to your brightness,
guidance on my journey.

Looking North for you
during the sunny day
your presence giving strength
my eyes find light.

Attractive is your brightness
known by all sailors
even when it’s day
you guide me, Polaris.

Comments on: "Cynosure" (14)

  1. Hi Ina..that photo looks just like me and my stick! There’s such a thing as “true north”, I think, and it can—if we so choose– keep us true to ourselves..lovely

    • Hi Cynthia, so we should “stick” together lol. This photo was taken on the beach yesterday, it already looks like Spring here, I hope it will stay like this for a while. Yes, that idea of a true North (I first heard that phrase in As the World Turns!) has an appeal to me. Thank you very much! 🙂

  2. Widow Beach said:

    Mmm, lovely.

  3. Peaceful picture and poem Ina. Love both L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you! It was a very nice day and so was this morning, but now the sky is overcasted. L&H xx

  4. A poem and a picture which complement each other beautifully.

    Would that I could come and stand beside you 🙂

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

    • Hi David, thank you very much ! Yes that would be nice 🙂 Well I am looking in the direction of England there lol 🙂
      Arohanui 🙂 xxx

  5. Just before our love got lost you said
    “I am as constant as a northern star”
    And I said “Constantly in the darkness
    Where’s that at?
    If you want me I’ll be in the bar”
    / Joni Mitchell – A Case of You /

  6. An ancient sailor’s story. Your photographs of your island are always beautiful, Ina. Good work.

  7. Lovely poem and photo, Ina. I pretended I was standing there with you. No wonder you are so constantly inspired to write! XO ♥

Leave a Reply

