Short memories

Evanescent thoughts of you while I write
(memories too short to be called as such)
make me open a window, all windows
so I can smell tar from the ships
then you appear swiftly in my lines
as you and tar, the smell of it are one,
my words can only write this palimpsest
as past has found this way to last in me
and windows batter memories of you.

Comments on: "Short memories" (13)

  1. Great opening line

  2. I read somewhere that our sense of smell is our most primitive….It does seem the one most tied to associations with the past. I can smell the tar in this poem…nice!

    • Thank you Cynthia, yes, some smells trigger the past, like the smell of paint always reminds me of my first day in Kindergarten πŸ™‚

  3. πŸ™‚ I think you have used the words perfectly appropriately.
    But I had to go and look two of them up in the dictionary!!! DUH!! πŸ™‚

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

    • πŸ™‚ Thank you very much David lol well I found a site with the most beautiful 100 English words ( love was one of them btw) πŸ™‚ so I wanted to make use of it!
      Much love to you too! xxx

  4. I love this! I cant believe I havent heard of the word “evanescent”! i will remember it! Lol L&H xx

  5. Widow Beach said:

    Oh my goodness–always powerful writing from you, and that last line is 5-Star Excellence.

  6. Tarred into me with the sensual ocean of your words…another beauty from Ina…

Leave a Reply

