Watching war

There is always a war somewhere you say
and you zap further away to The Simpsons.
But the image is going to stay in my mind
for the rest of the day and the night.

Each family has a history, I know,
incredible stories for Winter eves,
how the cities were bombed, how to survive,
about life, about loss, about hunger.

You don’t make the connection, I say,
what happened then, is that not happening now?
But The Simpsons are true enough for your mind,
and there will always be war anyway.

Comments on: "Watching war" (12)

  1. This is fabulous Ina and its just so very true. L&H xx

    • Hi Christine, thank you very much. It seems war never was gone. Strange somehow to live our lives when others struggle to survive. L&H xx

  2. I know. And we talk about World War 1 and 2 as if that were it. but as we all know its ongoing all over the world. Xx

  3. Watching football is my alternative to watching the Simpsons!!! πŸ™‚

    Much Love

    David xxx

  4. A good point beautifully made as always

    • Thank you Peter. I was just looking for your link om my blogroll but I see now I had not put one there! I shall do so now πŸ™‚

  5. That last line is particularly intense. I don’t have TV but can imagine that by clicking channels one can always find a war. Even without TV I can feel it in the air. Strong words Ina…

  6. Yes, we have to live our lives and so often feel helpless with the conflicts and inhumanities that are going on ‘elsewhere’. But this poem so speaks to how important our awareness is … that turning away is not an option. I am a great believer that what we try to ignore or avoid will sneak up on ‘us’. Isn’t that what happened with Hitler? … so many didn’t want to get involved and didn’t believe that his evil nature was as insidious and destructive as it was … If only these infections could be stopped before it is too late. XO

    • Thank you Diane, you are so right. There will be talks perhaps to stop a war in Ukraine, but no one is sure it will work. It is very scary. So many lives might be lost. So many bad things might happen, if the wrong decisions are made. Peace is a fragile affair. I hope good sense and reason will win.

Leave a Reply

