Water

12jnari14 031

There are sailors who panick in the middle of oceans
where life seems small and insignificant.

No birds anymore to remind them of solid ground.
The horizon never gets nearer.

There are sailors going mad when they realize
the bottoms of ships are just a few inches thick.

Beneath them is darkness well beyond measure deep into the Earth,
above them with staring blackness the whole universe watching.

Some even jump ship because there is no greater fear
than being lost on a rolling vessel never to reach port.

The only way to escape is the embrace of the waves,
to feel part of the world minutes before drowning.

Comments on: "Water" (31)

  1. Oh gosh Ina, this is so good! Its also scary and makes me want to stay put! Neither travelling by sea or in the air!! It must feel like that for the sailors though, sort of in the middle of nowhere and supported by nothing really. It made me shiver! L&H xx

    • Hi Chrstine, I was not too sure about this one (just wrote it this morning) so I am glad you like. Sea can do that to people I am told, just glad I never got a panick attack on a ship like that lol. Must be worse in a plane! I am too scared of flying, I only flew twice, in a tiny plane, for a small trip at 400 meters heigth πŸ™‚ Not going in a plane ever to cross an ocean!

  2. Ah, I like travelling on the sea!!

    aeroplanes are a different thing altogether!!!! πŸ™‚

    Much Love
    David
    xxx

    • For me too lol. If we were supposed to fly we would have had wings at birth! πŸ™‚

      Arohanui πŸ™‚ xxx

  3. I feel the ‘thinness’ more in the air than at sea – it’s a long way to the ground. I avoid thinking about it on our yacht!

  4. I prefer a boat above a plane too πŸ™‚ I never had the feelings at sea you describe in your poem though. Well captured.
    groetjes, Francina

  5. A metaphor of so many layers, as well as a great poem at face value. Well done!

  6. Some heavy thoughts…You always get my mental gears moving πŸ™‚

  7. This made me hold my breath, a futile effort before the end.

  8. That’s well written, good one!

  9. πŸ™‚ It would be great if you could drop at my story FOREVER.
    NB:ONLY if you don’t mind. πŸ™‚

  10. I grew up by one ocean and now live by another…need its presence but always respect its power and mystery…your poem knows the sailor’s mind and heart very well…

    • Hi John, well my father told me this a long time ago. Maybe now, with better communication, it is not so scary anymore!

  11. Very powerful, Ina! Those last lines … a choice of how to die … but also very metaphoric. Wonderful succinct poem that says so much. XO β™₯

Leave a Reply

