Pen pals

From less than acquaintances to more
we dwelled between paper walls,
words whispering in every letter:
this is how our hearts met,
honest and curious, revealing through ink,
bit by bit, in envelopes crossing the sea.

The start of you and me,
before the adventure
became that of a meeting in the flesh.
The we began handwritten, always sealed
with a closing kiss, stamped in silence
and carried to the mailbox through the rain.

πŸ™‚ the story of how my husband and me started in 1985

Comments on: "Pen pals" (14)

  1. Aww–I miss my pen pal. πŸ™‚

  2. So well expressed, as always

  3. Aw this is lovely Ina, beautifully expressed. L&H xx

  4. I like the ‘paper walls’!

  5. Though some would not believe it, correspondence in letters can afford great friendship, and even love, I have found, as you did too, Ina.

    • That is wonderful Cynthia πŸ™‚

      It was the thing to do when I was a child, my friends had them too. Once a neighbour found a balloon on the beach with a letter from a girl in Germany, he gave it to me and we were penpals for a while. I even visited her travelling on my own to Germany when I was 14 and stayed for a week, very nice people, Polish actually. And I had a penpal in the late sixties, seventies, from Czechoslovakia, that was great too. Then I got married (first marriage) and he (the pen pal) was angry! Never understood that as it was someone I never met, we were great pen pals though πŸ™‚

  6. Touching and endearing, very…

  7. Ethel and I corresponded for some time before we met, Ina. At the time I was the Editor of Rimrock Poets Magazine in Grand Junction, Colorado. Ethel’s sister, Lorraine, gave me some of her youngest sister’s poetry, and I wrote to Ethel about some of the most marvelous poetry I had ever read. When Ethel finally visited her sister in Colorado we met and were married six months later.
    This poem brought all that back to me. It is a marvelous poem. I am not sure I would have called Ethel and I pen pals, but we certainly wrote back and forth, sharing our poetry and thoughts, for a long time before we met. She lived in Wisconsin and was studying art at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. I was in Colorado, trying mostly to figure out who I was and failing miserably. Thanks much for this.

    • Hi Thomas, thank you very much, so good to hear from you again πŸ™‚ What a lovely story!

      After just corresponding, I met my husband for the first time when I had to be in his town (Utrcht) for a Mensa test that took place early in the morning, so I needed a place to stay πŸ™‚ Of course I only did the test to have an excuse to meet him. We partied all night and I came late for the test, but I did it well so now I am a mensa member (wtf) but the only really important thing was that we moved our friendship slowly into a relationship from that moment. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

