Ending and begin

The best books don’t have a happy ending you said.
Even after you cut out the last wine soaked pages
of Anna Karenina it still was a good book so we both thought,
misery reads well and your voice was a good voice
for reading about sadness.
That night our child was born.

I heard the rain when you read a poem to me
and the sound, your timbre, my eyes closed, meant
life, an ordinary day was lying ahead, not ending soon.
You made it special. This is what matters so I know now.
For this we began the journey together.
I think she jumped in front of a train.

Comments on: "Ending and begin" (14)

  1. I find this quite beautiful, Ina. Peace, and poetry, in the new year.

  2. I like books that don’t have endings at all (the shameless courage of modernism). I also like this poem.

  3. Love this Ina. I like books that don’t really have a distinct ending. It enables me to sort of write my own! On the other hand they can be frustrating too. Sometimes there’s just no pleasing me! πŸ˜„ L&H xx

  4. Now you make me think about the ending of the book. . Ina.. but I like the beginning in your poem more πŸ™‚ Great poem!
    groetjes, Francina πŸ™‚

  5. A wonderful slightly different take on a love poem.

    I think it is beautiful

    Arohanui
    David
    xxx

  6. Hi David, thank you very much πŸ™‚ Every poem somehow is a love poem perhaps πŸ™‚

    Arohanui xxx

  7. I thought the end of the poem was a happy ending. (I like happy endings)

Leave a Reply

