Bloody Christmas

10de13 011

I could stay where we are
hiding from snow and be fine,
no need to get up, if I didn’t feel
how the tiny thin glass splints
of the broken Christmas tree ornament
that was over fifty years old
enter the skin of my hand.

We could have that happy feel
as if all is well for a moment
because of candles
spreading their yellow light
and outside it would snow,
if you were here too.
It is warm here and all would be magic.

We could see smiling faces
in each little fragment
of the broken tree-ornament.
But for now I am content
with just the thought of you thinking of me
while outside Winter is making things worse
and blood drops are falling on Josef.

Comments on: "Bloody Christmas" (8)

  1. Totally enjoyed this, Ina…..maybe Joe was used to things falling on him, poor guy….

    • Thank you Cynthia 🙂 Yes who knows ! Those thin glass ornament-splints hurt me more than him though lol !

  2. paulessick said:

    Reblogged this on My Blog snuppy.

  3. exceptional Ina, I add it to my favorites of yours…so gently visual with a subtle tinge of humour and filled with the mixture of emotions that seems to pervade this season…love the photo too…at first reading I thought ‘Josef’ was one of the budgies 🙂

    • Hi John, thank you very much!

      The birds are my son’s but they live with us as he lives on a ship himself 🙂 They are called Ukkie and Mr Blue.

  4. Love this Ina! And lovely to see this photo accompanying a poem too!

    L&H xx

Leave a Reply

