Chain

3438514250_859866e87f

The bracelet belonged to my mother’s grandmother,
my grandmother’s mother, my great-grandmother,
my granddaughter’s great-great-great-grandmother,
and it was made of the chain of a watch
that belonged to god knows whom.
And one day it will be hers,
my granddaughter’s, to pass it on
to her granddaughter, and she will say:
“This once belonged to your great-great-great-great-great-grandmother,
my great-great-great-grandmother,
your great-great-grandmother’s great-grandmother,
the mother of your great-great-great-great-grandmother,”
and the kid won’t give a damn.

😉
I would like to put a photo here of the bracelet, but it is in the attic somewhere 🙂 The picture is my great-grandmother and her husband and children, my grandmother with the dark hair, her sister was blonder 🙂

Comments on: "Chain" (12)

  1. Nice one – if a tad confusing!

  2. The past can be a rich source of feeling connected, but it can also be a terrible, crippling burden….it depends…

  3. Love it! Gave me a masive smile! 😊 L&H xx

  4. this one makes me smile every time I read it 🙂

    David
    xxx

  5. Yes, there can be such a difference the way some look to the past and others don’t. Wonderful photograph and thoughts on memories that do and don’t belong to their ancestors. Reminded me of a crystal necklace my mom gave me that was her mother’s. I only ever wore it once, for some special occasion … and that night my grandmother came to me in a dream … she was very young, in a white dress and surrounded by little children. I will never forget it and, for some reason, have never worn the necklace since. XO

Leave a Reply

