Demented in my dream

In my dream already I’m demented,
I don’t remember how to catch the ferry.
Like on a square, how to know where you are
when all the houses seem to be the same.
To buy a ticket, I am running up and down, get lost.
I’ll be too late, I call, people are watching,
eyes with unhidden scorn.
There are trains too that I shall never catch.
In my dream I still am myself,
but more and more forlorn.

Dement in mijn droom

In mijn droom ben ik allang dement,
ik weet niet meer hoe ik de boot moet nemen.
Het is als op een plein, hoe weet je waar je bent
als alle huizen op elkander lijken.
Een kaartje kopen, ik ren heen en weer, verdwaal.
Ik zal te laat zijn, ik roep, mensen kijken,
niemand wil mij horen.
Er zijn ook treinen die ik nooit meer haal.
In mijn droom ben ik mezelf nog,
maar dan steeds meer verloren.

Comments on: "Demented in my dream" (4)

  1. I think we all feel like that at moments, as time passes, “More and more forlorn”, but the powers of your observations make me feel quite the opposite: that what I see, others see, and in that sense In will never be alone

    • Hi Peter, thank you very much for your thought. It is our mind working overtime when we are asleep 🙂 and no you are not alone in this!

  2. There are some dreams you are always glad to wake up from.

    In my case they always involve chases.

    Much love
    xxx

    • 🙂 Some dreams are too real to be real dreams perhaps !

      Much love and I wish you no chasing in your dreams!
      xxx

Leave a Reply

